"The Banishment" thought to be an absolute, universal work of art. All boundaries with reality have been intentionally destroyed. In the centre of an action is a family without nationality, time and place. That approach meant cleaning from all insignificant, not having relation to story. Movie about everybody, whenever and wherever he lives. A visual line was in severity, minimal image. The lack of things was compensated by abundance of textures, they were main tool in defining interior’s character.

   Sketches of all objects accompanied with surfaces samples.

  Decay without garbage, empty interiors. We tried to build the world founded on paintings of Andrew Wyeth. Rich textures solved several problems at once. Except actually picturesque view, they gave us feeling of history and the real life.

 

  Interior of the house of Alex.

  Other interiors, constructed in studio.

  Vera and Alex's world consisted of two parts: city and wild, pure world. Charleroi in Belgium was a city quintessence for us. Grown around huge iron and steel works, it was extremely intense, tight and lifeless. The ivy on facades had colors of a brick from the salty iron rains. Each hour clubs of a flame escaped from a tubes in a huge steel plant, and enormous claws collected the mountains of metal coming on barges to the city. Inhabited quarters was not separated from the plant in any way, they stayed in front of it. The industrialization and peak of development passed long ago here. The city lies under a network of the powerful overpasses, covered with a black soot, as well as all around. Alex's house was continuation of the city also. The factory room, where he equipped a workshop, was expanded to living rooms. But the initial architecture of a factory brutalism was seen in every part of the apartment.

 We did a number of interiors, such as a morgue, in abandoned sewing plant. Constructed in the middle of the 19th century it combined the industrial scale with decorative ideas of that time.

  The world live and real, a natural paradise was opposed to the absolute city. That place was found in the hills of Moldova. As a golf fields, they have been covered with the thinnest layer of the young grass which is pulled out by sheep and poultry. Hidden in a relief, there was a house. That place has been chosen for it’s unique geometry, it looked as an island among the earth, which is cut off from the other world by the cut-up ravine strip. Its alienation was emphasized by the bridge over a ravine. |In our mind the house was a watermill in the past, deserted long ago. The stream, feeding it, has dried up. The movement of heroes from the city to the house woke up forgotten feelings in them the.

 To keep delicate grass cover alive, the house was constructed from a pipe rack around, and all material was brought by foot from a ravine. It has been filled with a mix of objects from Vologda and the German country farms.

  The majority of the interiors has been constructed in the studio in Moscow.

  Director Andrey Zvyagintsev

  DOP Mikhail Krichman

  Production Designer Andrey Ponkratov

  Props Alexandr Losovsky

  Set Builder Alexandr Fedorov

Изгнание задумывалось как абсолютное, универсальное художественное произведение. Все связи с реальностью были намеренно разрушены. В центре действия семья, без национальности, времени и места. Такой подход предполагал очищение от всего несущественного, не имеющего отношения к истории, кино о каждом человеке. Визуальный ряд строился на строгости, минималистичности изображения. Предметная скупость компенсировалась обилием фактур, они в главной степени и определяли состояния интерьеров.

 

     Эскизы всех объектов сопровождались подборкой образцов живых поверхностей.

  Ветхость без мусора, одиночные объекты. Мы старались построить свой мир, основанный на живописи. Насыщенные  фактуры решали сразу несколько задач. Кроме собственно живописного начала, они давали ощущение истории и настоящей жизни.

 

  Интерьер дома Алекса.

Другие интерьеры, построенные в павильоне.

  Мир Веры и Алекса состоял из двух больших частей: города и дикого, чистого мира. Квинтэссенцией города для нас оказался Шарлеруа в Бельгии. Выросший вокруг гигантского металлургического комбината, он был крайне напряженным, тесным и безжизненным. Плющ, местами прорывающийся на фасады,, был цвета кирпича от выпадающих солей железа. Из главных домен завода каждый час вырывались клубы пламени, а гигантские клешни собирали горы металла, поступающие на баржах в город. Жилые кварталы никак не отделялись от завода, а находились напротив. Прошедший индустриализацию и пик развития давно, он был покрыт сетью мощных эстакад, покрытых черной копотью, как и все вокруг. Продолжением города был и дом Алекса. Это в прошлом фабричное помещение, где он оборудовал себе мастерскую, было расширено жилыми комнатами. Но изначальная архитектура заводского брутализма не дала им развиться.

 Ряд интерьеров, таких, как морг мы делали в помещениях брошенного швейного завода. Построенный в середине 19 века он сочетал в себе индустриальный масштаб и практичность с декоративными представлениями об оформлении фасадов того времени. Как и всякий объект в этом фильме он нес в себе двойственность.

  Абсолютному городу противопоставлялся мир живого и настоящего, торжество природы в гармонии с человеком. Это были холмы Молдавии. Как гольфовые поля, они были покрыты тончайшим слоем молодой травы, выщипанной овцами и домашними птицами . Спрятанный в складках рельефа, стоял дом. Место это было выбрано за свою уникальную геометрию, оно выглядело, как остров среди земли, отрезанный от прочего мира изрезанной полосой оврага. Его отчуждение подчеркивал мост через овраг. По замыслу дом являлся давно покинутой водяной мельницей, под которой пересох ручей, питающий ее. Движение героев от города к дому  пробуждало в них давно забытые чувства.

 Чтоб не порушить деликатный травяной покров, дом строился с мостков вокруг, а весь материал подносился по тропинке из оврага. Он был наполнен смесью предметов из Вологды и германских крестьянских хозяйств.

<>

 

Большинство интерьеров было построено в павильоне в Москве.