Silent souls - poetic observation of life by the main character, Aist Vsevolodovich. The director Alexey Fedorchenko known for "The First on the Moon", where he has perfectly proved in a mocumentary genre. In this movie partly the pseudo-documentary stylistics are also used, but it is only done more subtle and artistic. There is a contrast combination of disappeared history and traditions with extremely real environment in which these traditions continue to live. The visual decision was in harmony of simple. The filter of poverty and time clears the world from accidental and temporary.

   The settlement of Koslan near Syktyvkar has been chosen as a central place, the hero's homeland. Almost cut off from a civilization, it developed in his own way. It was based as logging factory and it is almost completely constructed of wood buildings. This wood was never painted, washed up by rains, it becomes silver.

    The hero of the story - the photographer at paper plant.

   The settlement of Koslan is formed around the river and stands on the hilly coast. Constructed in 1940th it all consists of apartment houses and is almost deprived of private ones. This strict geometry of parallelepipeds, casting metal, rhythmically organizes landscape.

   The cities across Volga river from Kineshma and Yuryevets to Gorbatov on Oka became the second part of the locations. There is nothing more Russian, than these places. Water has in the movie special mystical sense, and all our places have been located on the rivers. The proximity of big water, gives a shade of slow withering to these places. Piece and sadness poured there was for us the main value.

 Director Alexey Fedorchenko

 DOP Mikhail Krichman

 Production Designer Andrey Ponkratov

 Set Decorator Alexey Potapov

Овсянки - поэтическое наблюдение жизни главным героем, Аистом Всеволодовичем.  Режиссер Алексей Федорченко снял перед этим фильм "Первые на Луне", где прекрасно проявил себя в жанре мокьюментари. В этом фильме отчасти также используется псевдодокументальная стилистика, только сделано это тоньше и художественнее. Здесь есть контрастное сочетание истории и традиций исчезнувшего народа с крайне настоящей средой, в которой эти традиции продолжают жить. Изобразительное решение строилось на поиске гармонии в простом. Фильтр бедности и старости очищает мир от случайного и временного.

      Центральным местом, родиной героя, был избран поселок Кослан за Сыктывкаром. Практически отрезанный от цивилизации, он развивался по своим законам. Он был основан, как лесозаготовительный и практически полностью построен из дерева. Дерево давно не крашено и поселок объединен одним цветом серебра вымытой дождями древесины.

  Герой повествования - фотограф на бумажном комбинате.

 

 

  Поселок Кослан образован вокруг реки и стоит на холмистом берегу. Построенный разом в 40е он весь состоит из многоквартирных домов и практически лишен одиночных. Эта строгая геометрия параллелепипедов,отливающих металлом, ритмически организует пространство.

 

 Второй большой частью натурного блока стали города по Волге от Кинешмы и Юрьевца до Горбатова на Оке. Нет наверное ничего более русского, чем эти места. Вода обладает в фильме особым мистическим смыслом, и все наши объекты расположены были по рекам. Близость большой воды, дает оттенок неторопливого увядания этим местам. Покой и печаль, разлитая там, являлась для нас главной ценностью.